EECU will close at 5 p.m. on Tuesday, March 12 for an All Employee Event.

Lonnie Nicholson, EECU President/CEO, and Frank Molinar, EECU Treasurer, with the 2019 scholarship recipients.

EECU has awarded $40,000 in college scholarships to support eight local graduating high school students. The EECU scholarship program began more than 30 years ago and honors former board member Glenn Mandeville, a life-long educator.  Since that time, EECU has provided more than $500,000 in scholarship money to local students.

“EECU has a deep commitment to education,” said Lonnie Nicholson, EECU President and CEO. “Higher education can be an essential springboard to building productive lives, but unfortunately, college costs also can be a significant burden.  EECU is proud to recognize and financially assist these deserving students, and we wish them tremendous success in their academic pursuits.”

At the annual EECU meeting on March 28, EECU recognized the following eight students, who are 2019 scholarship recipients. Each student will receive a $5,000 scholarship from EECU:

  • Sydney Aalbers, Burleson Centennial High School, plans to study Interdisciplinary Agriculture
  • Allissa Adams, Stephenville High School, plans to study Speech & Hearing Science
  • Angelique Arredondo, Arlington Collegiate High School, plans to study Nursing
  • Kaitlin Bennett, Cleburne High School, plans to study Biology & Pharmacy
  • Caroline Berry, Haltom High School, plans to study Music Education
  • Diego Ochoa, Crowley High School, plans to study Computer Science
  • Elena Regalado, Martin High School, plans to study Special Education
  • Timothy Turnley, Keller High School, plans to study Music Education

The students were selected via a review process that included academics, service to community, extracurricular leadership activities, references and an essay.

Find your local financial center or ATM