EECU will be closed Monday, May 27 in observance of Memorial Day.

Frank Molinar, EECU Chairman, and Lonnie Nicholson, EECU President/CEO, with the 2024 scholarship recipients.

Date Published: April 26, 2024

EECU has awarded a college scholarship to twelve graduating high school seniors in the Dallas Fort Worth Metroplex. The EECU Scholarship program began more than 35 years ago and honors our long-standing commitment to the education of our community.

After submitting applications for consideration earlier this school year, recipients were selected and honored at the EECU Annual Meeting on March 26. Eight students received the Glenn Mandeville Memorial Scholarship, named in honor of the former EECU board member and life-long educator.

Additionally, EECU announced four new scholarships to be awarded starting this year, each named in memory of a former EECU leader who was dedicated to serving their community.

Each recipient will receive a $5,000 scholarship from EECU to help support the next chapter in their education journey.

“EECU has a deep commitment to education,” said Lonnie Nicholson, EECU President and CEO. “Higher education can be an essential springboard to building productive lives, but unfortunately, college costs also can be a significant burden. EECU is proud to recognize and financially assist these deserving students, and we wish them tremendous success in their academic pursuits.”

We’d like to congratulate this year’s scholarship recipients:

Glenn Mandeville Memorial Scholarship
  • McKenzie Duggin (Brock, TX – Brock High School)
  • Peggy Carr (Fort Worth, TX – Young Women’s Leadership Academy)
  • Ivy Smith (Cleburne, TX – Cleburne High School)
  • Abbie Ha (Grapevine, TX – Colleyville Heritage High School)
  • Jonathan Feldman (Fort Worth, TX – Pascal High School)
  • Caleb Farina (Mansfield, TX – Mansfield High School)
  • Tyler Hall (Colleyville, TX – The Oakridge School)
  • Anish Reddy Alle (Plano, TX – Plano High School)
Jerry Deering Memorial Scholarship
  • Eric Tong (Colleyville, TX – Grapevine High School)
Ora Dunlap Memorial Scholarship
  • Faith Savage (Watauga, TX – Richland High School)
Flo Jones Memorial Scholarship
  • Sebastian Rodriquez (Arlington, TX – Martin High School)
Verma Russell Memorial Scholarship
  • Montana Woods (Quanah, TX – Quanah High School)
The students were selected via a review process that included academics, service to community, extracurricular leadership activities, references and an essay.

Since the inception of our scholarship program, EECU has awarded more than $720,000 in scholarship money to local students.

Find your local financial center or ATM